Leek and Wensleydale toastie

I’m so behind with my blogging, literally no time now I’m back at work with two kids! I still cook but I never get round to blogging and as a result keep forgetting my recipes! So trying to catch up. This was a yummy lunch for me and baby last week… Chris hates leeks so felt like a treat! Serves 2 (altered from original in good food magazine)
2 leeks

Butter

100g Wensleydale (I used quite a bit less as this is 50g per person!)

4 slices granary bread
For the pickle

1 Apple, sliced thinly

2 carrots, grated

Beetroot (should be raw grated but I used packet cooked)

 1 tbsp whole grain mustard

1 tbsp maple syrup

1 tbsp cider vinegar
Fry the leeks in butter and a 2 tbsp water for about 12 mins

Meanwhile, mix the pickle dressing ingredients in a bowl

Mix the veg together in another bowl

Mix the leeks and cheese together.

Butter e bread

Place one slice of bread butter side down in pan, top with half the leek and cheese mix and other slice of bread. Cook for 2 mins each side approx. Would be even better with a griddle pan but I don’t have one!

Mix the dressing into the pickle and serve with the sandwich

3 of 5 a day but 581 calories and 28g fat. Yummy though!

Categories: Cooking | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

