Gram flour flatbreads

Bought the gram flour from morrisons online and think it will be a very useful ingredient! It’s made from ground chickpeas so healthier than normal flour and has loads of uses. My aunt says she uses it to thicken sauces etc, which I will try as cornflour is nasty stuff! My friend Lucy (source of this recipe) says you just vary the water content according to consistency you want. She says you could do thin pancakes or naan bread style. I made these like drop scones. I saw this used on eat well for less last week and they did a similar technique to make a pizza base, which I think is a great idea.

1 cup gram flour

1 tsp baking powder

Water- pour this in bit by bit whilst mixing

For the drop scone style flatbreads I needed about 2/3 cup water 

When mixed to the required consistency, heat some oil (spray oil burnt so I used rapeseed which worked well) and drop tablespoons of mixture into the pan. Flip when cooked underneath to cook the top. reckon these will feature quite a lot in my diet as healthier than bread! I’m sure on the tv they even said you could include gram flour in your 5 a day!

Categories: Cooking | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

