Pumpkin pie

Samantha’s pumpkin obsession continues! She loves buying them, lifting them and playing with them, and quite likes eating them! She randomly requested the pumpkin pie so I made her one. He first time I did it in a proper tart tin, pre-baking the pastry case etc, but this makes 8 portions which is a lot for us. The second time I halved the proper quantities (and I’m going to give the halved quantities below) to make 4 portions. I didn’t have a small pie tin so I used my pie dish, which serves 4. I put the pumpkin stuff on the bottom, and the pastry on the top (my pastry was 2 wet so used it as a kind of cobbler topping). I then just baked the whole thing for about 50 minutes. If you’re serving this to others used the proper recipe here but for a quick family pudding, and to avoid eating it all week, this works fine.

375g pumpkin purée (I baked my pumpkin whole and cut out the flesh, puréed it with a stick blender then used it in a range of recipes including this one)
175g sweet Shortcrust pastry (made this myself, will share recipe later)
70g caster sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp cinnamon
1 egg, beaten
12g melted butter
85ml milk

Combine the dry ingredients
Mix in the eggs, butter and milk and stir to combine
Add in the pumpkin and mix until fully combined
Lightly grease pie dish and put the custard mixture in
Top with your pastry. Roll out it you can, or just do blobs
Bake for 40-50 mins until quite set
Serve like a crumble, with custard or cream, yum yum!

Categories: Cooking | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

