GBBO: cinnamon buns

Made these for last week’s bake off bake along as it was advanced dough week which, given my lack of success in actual bread week, didn’t massively suit my skills (I need more practice!) In Ikea last week I tried a cinnamon bun and loved it, and now I’ve tried making my own they’re on the permanent collection. So tasty and mega easy. I used my new stand mixer to knead them though, I have a feeling they’d be much harder by hand.
The recipe comes from a guardian blog on the perfect cinnamon buns, but to be fair, they were pretty perfect so fair play! You can read the article here

300ml milk
1 tsp ground cardamom (made from about 25 pods, and I didn’t actually bother crushing them)
50g butter
425g plain flour (I ran out so used a mix with a lot of strong white bread flour, which I’d repeat as they worked well)
7g fast action yeast
60g castor sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1 egg

filling
75g butter
50g Demerara sugar (recipe said dark brown, but we liked the crunch from the Demerara)
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt

Heat the milk and cardamom until nearly boiled
Stir the butter into the hot milk until it melts, then leave to infuse
Put the dry ingredients into the bowl of your stand mixer
Make a well and put in the egg (beat it first)
Add the milk and knead in the stand mixer for 5 mins (it is quite a soft sticky dough
Leave to prove with tea towel over for 30 mins
Mix the ingredients for the filling
Roll out the dough into a large rectangle (recipe said 35 x25) The dough is quite dry and pliable, a bit like pizza dough at this stage
Spread the filling over the rectangle and roll up like a Swiss roll
Use a sharp knife to cut into separate rolls. Recipe said 7 but mine made 12 (so we ate two each!)
Grease a lasagne dish and place the rolls into it
Prove for 30 mins
Bake for 25 mins
Eat. I think they are probably nicest warm! Good excuse to yomp them all!

Categories: Cooking | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

