Parsnip crisps

I had 3 spare parsnips that I didn’t want to waste, left over from Chris making me a maple parsnip cake for my birthday. I couldn’t give them to Bob as apparently rabbits can’t eat parsnip, so needed to use them up. These crisps worked really well, although I do think I burnt them a bit (I have burnt a few things today!) I would definitely do them again, but cook them for less time. A mandolin would help (thinking of getting one for Christmas) as I sliced the parsnips with a peeler and ended up wasting the core of the parsnip as well as the peel. Next time will try including the peel to make crisps and see how that goes. The original recipe is here, but I didn’t bother with weighing anything.

Parsnips (I used 3, 250g)
Olive oil
Seasoning (I really overdid the salt, be careful!)

Peel the parsnips and thinly slice, using the peeler or a mandolin
Put the parsnip slices in a bowl with a bit of olive oil and mix up with your hands
Layer thinly on a tray and season
Bake in oven for about 20 mins, but check a bit before as mine burnt… But still nice to eat 🙂

This recipe should work with all root vegetables, although I haven’t tried it yet.

Categories: Cooking | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

