Smoked mackerel carbonara

Got this recipe from the new series of save with Jamie, but he’s Actually just doing recipes from the book I already have so when I see something I like, I can just look it up in my book! Halved Jamie’s original recipe as it was for 4 people, and there are only 2 adults and a toddler in our family. Don’t think carbonara is an ideal meal for eating as leftovers.
Serves 2 and takes about 25 mins

150g dried penne (I added another 30g for Samantha, age 3)
1 onion
1/2 courgette
2 sprigs rosemary (not currently growing this, and didn’t have dried, so left it out)
60g smoked boneless mackerel (half a pack from morrisons approx)
1 egg
50ml milk
20g cheese (should be Parmesan, I used cheddar)
Optional, lemon, I didn’t include this

Cook the pasta in boiling salted water
Peel and slice the onion
Slice the courgette into similarly sized pieces to the pasta
Fry the onion and courgette for about 5 mins (I used spray oil, Jamie suggests olive oil)
Chop and add the mackerel and rosemary and cook for 5 more minutes
Whisk the egg, milk and cheese together in a jug
When cooked, drain the pasta, reserving a cup of the water (I ladled this out first)
Toss the pasta into the veg and fish and take the pan off the heat (I used a casserole pan as it makes this stage easier)
it is really important the pan is off the heat for the next stage or the egg will scramble
Pour in the eggy sauce and some of the water and toss/ stir it until a smooth sauce forms
Serve, with extra cheese, pepper and lemon if required

I made a mackerel pâté with the leftover mackerel. Used half a large tub of soft cheese (extra light) and added a bit of pepper and lemon juice. Was absolutely delicious, I ate half of it out of the tub!

Categories: Cooking | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

