Stuffed mushrooms

I have never successfully made stuffed mushrooms. I think the problem is I don’t consider carefully enough the flavour and texture of what I’m stuffing them with, and just whack anything in… With dubious results! Anyway, no more! We had to use up some giant flat mushrooms as I’d bought them for a barbecue that was rained off (the forecast had always been for rain so it was a little over-optimistic in the first place!) I hadn’t bought any ingredients at all, but luckily I found this recipe on the good food website, which uses only store cupboard ingredients. The original recipe had amounts but I used 1 slice of bread and 2 garlic cloves, and worked the rest out by eye. It filled 5 large mushrooms comfortably, but could probably also fill a packet of button mushrooms, as the original recipe suggests. They would make lovely canapés. I served these with spaghetti and a sauce of sour cream and pesto (didn’t want pure pesto as I thought the flavour might be a bit too overpowering) and it was totally delicious. Unexpectedly even panther enjoyed it (although apparently only after sulking about it for quite a while!)

5 large flat mushrooms (or equivalent, 1 supermarket packet)
1 slice bread (recipe said white but I used granary)
2 cloves garlic, crushed
50g grated cheese (recipe said Parmesan. I can’t afford to use 50g of that so used cheddar!)
50g butter
Chives (recipe said fresh but I used dried)

Use processor to whizz bread into crumbs
Melt the butter in a frying pan and fry the garlic for 1 minute
Add the bread crumbs and stir fry for another minute
Put in a separate bowl (so you don’t just melt the cheese into the frying pan and waste it) and add the cheese and chives, and mix well
Bread the stalk out of each mushroom, crumble it and mix them into the filling
Spoon a bit of filling into each mushroom (I found there was quite a bit)
Bake in the oven for about 20-30 mins, depending how you like them

Serve with pasta like me, or you could have them in a bun as a delicious burger!

Categories: Cooking | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Stuffed mushrooms

  1. I love a good mushroom burger! When I stuff mushrooms, I usually start with a cheese and then add things to the cheese base. For example start with a tub of cream cheese, add herbs, garlic and bacon. It’s amazing. Trust me.

  2. Julietbec

    I like the sound of including bacon. Now I’ve mastered these ones I will try your suggestion! As a burger, would be yummy!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

