Cornflake tart

I’ve been wanting to try making this ever since I saw it being sold at the play centre down the road, and it didn’t disappoint! This definitely tastes like a school pudding, but in a good way, although I don’t personally remember eating it! I mainly remember eating cheesy potato pie, which I’m going to give a try ASAP! Oh and chocolate custard which I won’t bother trying again! It is really simple and delicious though, and the cornflake topping goes really crunchy and yummy! Next time I will make my own pastry, as this would make it quite a lot cheaper! The amounts in this recipe are a bit awkward! Wouldn’t worry about being too exact though! The original is here.

1 sheet ready rolled Shortcrust pastry (I will do about 250g flour next time I think in my Shortcrust and hope that’s right, but I will update this when I’ve tried)
115g golden syrup (3 large tbsp)
85g cornflakes
55g butter
25g dark brown sugar (I used muscovado)
Pinch salt
1/3 jar strawberry jam

Grease a flan tin and line with the pastry (I was a bit haphazard but it kind of added to the school days charm!)
Put in foil and fill with baking beads (or dried pasta or similar, but don’t forget the foil or you end up in a mess!)
Blind bake for 20 mins
Meanwhile heat the butter, sugar, golden syrup and salt in a pan
Stir in the cornflakes, making sure they are fully coated
When the pastry case is out of the oven spread it with jam (the recipe says to warm the jam but there’s no need)
Pour in the cornflake mixture and push down a bit to fill the tart
Bake for a further 5-10 minutes until the topping is crispy

It needs to cool a bit before you eat it. The recipe says to eat it with custard but it’s also lovely just on its own.

Categories: Cooking | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

