Slow cooker steamed pudding

I’m so pleased I can now make this so easily, steamed pudding is a real favourite of mine! It’s not something I’d ever have made though, as the thought of fancying about steaming it on the hob is just too much of a faff! Now I’ve tried this basic recipe I’m going to look up some flavoured ones and try them out, starting with ginger. Sadly I can’t credit this recipe. It’s from a slow cooker book, but I only had it in text form from my friend heather.

75g butter
100g light muscovado
1 lemon zest
1 egg
50g sr flour
Half tsp baking powder
Half tsp ground cinnamon (had to miss this out as I’ve run out)
50g porridge oats (I used jumbo as it was all I had but I’d recommend using normal ones as the big ones were quite lumpy in the cake and gave it a funny texture)
1 tbsp lemon juice
1-2 tbsp milk (I just tipped a bit in!)

Cream butter and sugar
Add egg and mix in
Add lemon and milk
Stir in dry ingredients and mix well
Grease a pudding bowl (I used spray oil) and put the mixture in
Place it in slow cooker and fill slow cooker with water to halfway up
Cook on high for 3-4 hours

Size-wise this made about 4 portions, it only half-filled the bowl.

Categories: Cooking | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

