Bread pudding

I made this for my dad, and Chris’s colleagues, because we had a freezer full of ends of bread! It was good to cook with Samantha as it was simple. I first tried this, randomly, at my local bakery when I lived in France. As you might imagine, made from croissants etc, it was utterly delicious! My dad buys this from the red rock cafe in dawlish warren, where in fact we’ve just been on holiday. Sadly the cafe is closed at the minute as the rough seas and crazy floods over the winter have done a lot of damage to the sea walls and you can’t get to the cafe. Hope it will survive. This recipe is from good food. I’ve made it before, a few years ago. It is suitable to freeze, which is what I’ve done with my dads half.

500g bread
500g dried fruit (I used £1 worth of sultanas from coop)
85g mixed peel (about half a pot)
1 1/2 tbsp mixed spice (still didn’t have this, I used ginger and nutmeg)
600ml milk (I used skimmed as it needed using up)
2 eggs, beaten
140g light muscovado
100g butter

Tear up the bread into a bowl
Add the fruit, sugar and mixed peel
Pour in the milk and eggs
Mix with your hands
Leave to soak for 15 mins
Melt the butter and mix it in
Pour the mixture into a greased tin (I used 2 loaf tins as I have paper liners for these)
Bake at 180 for 1 1/2 hours, covering the top with foil if it browns too quickly

Categories: Cooking | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

