Parsnip and maple syrup cake

I love this cake! It’s from good food magazine in November 2009, the very first issue I ever bought in fact! I made it as Philip’s birthday cake this Tuesday because I fancied something a bit different, and I’ve jus made it again to take to a party we’re going to on Saturday. I made it years ago too so I knew it’d be nice. Calories are 697 in 1/8 but actually this would be a pretty huge slice!

175g butter
250g Demerara sugar
100ml maple syrup (annoyingly bottle is only 180ml so I’m halfway through my second bottle)
3 eggs
250g sr flour
2 tsp baking powder (according to Mary berry you should measure this carefully as if you put too much it will rise in oven then sink back)
2tsp mixed spice (just used cinnamon and ginger as my mixed spice has run out)
250g parsnips, peeled and grated (used food processor first time and by hand second time. Main thing was to peel even f food processing as otherwise they don’t chop well)
1 eating apple, grated (didn’t peel this)
50g pecans, broken into pieces
Zest and juice of 1 orange
filling- cheese for middle
250g tub mascarpone
3-4 tbs maple syrup
filling-Icing for top, my addition
200g icing sugar
100g butter
2 tbsp maple syrup
(Today I doubled this and used it in middle and on top as it’s cheaper. You would probably only really need 300g icing sugar and 150g butter though)

Grease and line 2 sandwich tins
Melt butter, sugar and maple syrup in a pan over a gentle heat then cool slightly
Whisk in the eggs
Stir in the rest of the ingredients
Pour into tins and bake for 25-30 mins, until it springs back when pressed
Cool

Mix together mascarpone and maple syrup and spread in middle

Process the icing ingredients to make a smooth buttercream and use to decorate cake

I used pecan nuts to decorate the cake each time.

The mascarpone filling is better as less sickly, but the tub of mascarpone costs £2 which is pretty expensive, so I figured the icing was a little cheaper. Will probably use mascarpone next time in middle, but would always top with icing if using as a celebration/ birthday cake

Categories: Cooking | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

