Slow cooked porridge

I’ve been looking for a recipe for this for weeks. I think porridge is a great breakfast idea, but never actually feel like making it in the morning. Beans on toast, my actual favourite, is far easier to make in the morning! However, if I’ve pre-prepared the porridge I’m guaranteed to eat it! In terms of toppings, I’m having a teaspoon of Nutella mixed in, and topped with banana chips. My favourite would be some sort of fruit compote, but our hob is broken (it developed a leak and we had to call national grid who turned the gas off to our whole house!) so I can’t make such things at the moment. Actually if it is nice and I make it again tomorrow I might bake an apple to go with it. The recipe is super-easy, no effort at all, but let’s hope the washing up isn’t too much effort!

1 cup jumbo oats (bought these specially as I figured using the jumbo ones would stop it turning completely to mush, but haven’t tried with my normal cheapo ones so can’t really comment!)
4 cups milk (I used a mix of 3 cups skimmed and 1 cup whole, but you could also use a mix of milk and water)
1/4 cup dried fruit (I used raisins)

Place in a slow cooker and cook overnight on low for 7-8 hours. This is why I liked this recipe. Others I have seen don’t take into account how long you actually spend in bed… As much as I want to slow cook porridge, I don’t want to get out of bed to start it off! The magazine says it doesn’t matter what size your cup is as it’s the quantities that count making it super easy to make 🙂

Categories: Cooking | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

