Slow cooked massaman curry

This is awesome, straight into the permanent collection! Based on this recipe by bbc food, although I changed and simplified it loads. Due to my lack of hob I couldn’t pre-brown the meat or fry the paste as you normally would, but based on how delicious it was I wouldn’t bother even if I did have a hob! Also I didn’t have as much meat or potatoes as specified so made it using the pack sizes I had. This is delicious and not too hot. Serves 4.

Stewing beef (my pack was about 400-500g)
Potatoes (I used 5 medium ones)
3 tbsp massaman curry paste
Carton of coconut cream (this is 250ml in morrisons)
Coriander (I didn’t have this but would have used dried if I had it)
Ginger (thumb-sized, grated)
1 tsp light muscovado sugar
Lime juice
1 tsp fish sauce
6 kaffir lime leaves

Mix the ingredients in the slow cooker (if doing it this way you need to give it a good stir)
Cook on low all day

We didn’t put any peanuts on it, but this was suggested and would be a good idea. We served it with rice.

Categories: Cooking | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

