Galette des Rois

I have been wanting to make this for so long! A galette is a traditional French cake, eaten to celebrate epiphany, although they eat it through the month of January. The name means kings’ cake, hence epiphany. When I lived in France we used to eat loads of them. You hide a charm in the cake, known as a fève, and whoever gets the charm gets to wear the crown and be king for the day. It used to be a bean that was hidden, which I believe is what fève means, but now it’s a little china charm. I asked a French friend to bring me some of the charms back from France, so I now have 4 in the cupboard ready t make these. We ate some if it after tea tonight but sadly the charm wast found, so no kings yet. We will have a bit more tomorrow. With these amounts I recko it serves 8-10 people, it’s huge! Interestingly, the recipe, which is apparently by eric lanlard and is published on goodfoodchannel.co.uk reckons to serve 4!!! This is mega easy so well worth making to celebrate in January, which let’s face it, is a pretty rubbish month baking-wise!

125g caster sugar
125g ground almonds
125g butter
3 eggs
1 tbsp dark rum (I used cognac because I had some. If not would have just left it out)
500g puff pastry (I used frozen from Iceland. £2.50 for 1kg)
The recipe includes a sugar syrup and potentially egg wash, but I ignored these)

Mix the almonds and sugar in a bowl
Add the sugar and cream it until thoroughly mixed (I did this with panther so mine wasn’t that well mixed but it was fine, so don’t worry)
Beat n the eggs one by one (panther got up the nerve to break one, after a failure a few months ago when she cracked one and it went in her face! However, unfortunately she dropped one on the floor, whoops!)
Mix in the rum/ cognac
Divide the puff pastry into 2 even portions and roll each out into a disc, approximately 25cm across and 3-4 mm thick. I couldn’t get mine into a proper circle but it was fine
Spoon the almond mixture (frangipane) onto one of the discs, leaving a 5cm edge all around it. Place the charm into the frangipane.
Place the second disc on top and fold the bottom disc up, sealing it onto the top disc all around.
Cook for 40 mins

I ignored the stage which said chill for an hour before baking due to lack of time. I also didn’t cut the crisis cross pattern into the top, and as I said before I didn’t bother with any egg wash/sugar syrup. But these things might be good, it’s just I had lots of guests and was very busy!

Categories: Cooking | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

