Courgette lasagne

I have a bit of catch-up blogging to do. I’ve made loads more than I’ve actually blogged! Chris is even more behind, even though I keep urging him to get some recipes up because he changed them so much when he made them and needs to remember how he made them!
This is a courgette lasagne from good food magazine. I wanted to make their simpler version but for some reason it’s been taken off their website and I Couldn’t be bothered to find the magazine it came from! Essentially I think the difference was that in the easier version you didn’t have to pre-cook the lasagne. This is a nice, low-calorie tea. It’s not as good as a meat lasagne (and it made me seriously crave it!) but it’s certainly a tasty midweek meal. I have changed the recipe quite a bit, through laziness and having to look after panther whilst I cooked! The main thing was not pre-cooking the lasagne sheets, which as I’ve said before I never really do! The original recipe is here.

6 courgettes
9 lasagne sheets
250g ricotta (I substituted the mascarpone left over from the other week and some milk)
50g cheese
2 tins tomatoes (original recipe said pasta sauce, but I made my own by heating these with some herbs- basil, oregano and marjoram. I added some sugar to reduce the cooking time of this)
2 cloves garlic
1 onion

Make a tomato sauce and leave it to cook whilst you make the rest
Grate the courgettes
Heat some oil and fry the onion for 3 mins.
Add the grated courgette and crushed garlic, and fry for 2-3 more minutes
Stir in 2/3 of the ricotta and grated cheddar and season
Layer up the lasagne in a dish. Start with courgette mixture, then lasagne, then tomato, making 3 layers ending with tomato
Top with blobs of ricotta and grated cheese (I didn’t have this so I used leftover Wensleydale with cranberries!!!)
Bake in oven, if you didn’t pre-cook the lasagne it takes about 30-40 minutes

Categories: Cooking | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

