Chocolate and peanut butter cupcakes

Bit disappointed with these to be fair… But the taste was nice so I guess I’d try them again, I certainly like the idea! The recipe comes from Rachel Allen’s book again. Sadly this will be going back to the library tomorrow and I’m going to start cooking from Jamie Oliver’s new book, which is my own and is full of delicious recipes. I will be getting the Rachel Allen one out again, but a change is as good as a rest so… Anyway, the reason these were disappointing is that size wise they are more of a muffin. I read cupcakes in the title she gave them, so put them in cupcake cases. They exploded way above their wrappers. Because of this, ad the fact they are very soft, they were impossible t get out of the tin, and only 4 out of 12 actually survived as cakes. I didn’t waste them of course… I turned them into a trifle I’m going t blog about next… Anyway, when making these, use muffin cases. Method- wise they are a cake, but size-wise a muffin!

150g plain flour
25 g cocoa powder
1 tsp baking powder
Pinch f salt
125 g caster sugar
100ml milk
75g butter, melted and cooled
2 eggs
50g peanut butter

Put flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt into a large bowl and stir in the sugar
Beat together the milk, butter and eggs and add gradually to the dry ingredients, stirring to make a smooth batter
Stir in the peanut butter, rippling it through rather than fully combining it
Divide between 12 muffin cases and bake for 20mins at 180, until just firm

Rachel gives a recipe for a basic chocolate icing, but I just used those I’ve already blogged so haven’t bothered to include it.

Categories: Cooking | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

