Spicy prune and apple muffins

Muffins are one of my favourite things to cook. Maximum pleasure for minimum effort! I’m talking about the American ones of course… I’m yet to actually try to make English ones! One thing I get really bugged by though is muffin recipes that are really cupcakes. Muffins involve minimum mixing, so there’s no way a muffin recipe will ever involve an electric whisk for example, I get really annoyed when ‘muffin’ recipes require me to whisk and generally fanny about. That’s for cakes! This muffin recipe is from Rachel Allen’s book, home cooking. It is a great book, very family-oriented, a lot like tana Ramsey. I have quite a few more things to try. These muffins are from the breakfast section, and they are a perfect breakfast muffin. Not sweet and sickly, just sweet enough. But Chris has just had one for his pudding so I guess they fit there as well. My diet website gave these about 200 calories, so that makes a good breakfast with the addition of say a banana. I also had a yoghurt this morning.

275g wholemeal flour (I did a mix of plain and wholemeal)
50g rolled oats
125g soft light brown sugar (I used a mix of brown sugars)
1 tbsp baking powder
1 tsp bicarb
2 tsp ground mixed spice (use plenty- my jar was running out so mine were a bit short on this)
175g pitted prunes, chopped with scissors into bits (I used about 125g as this was half a bag leaving enough to make them again. You can use however many you like within reason)
1 apple (Rachel said to chop and peel it. I grated it and didn’t bother to peel)
250ml milk, soured with lemon about 5 mins before using (just mix a few drops of lemon juice with milk and leave it out for 5 mins)
50g melted butter
2 eggs

Mix the dry ingredients together
Add the fruit
Mix the wet ingredients together
Add them to the dry ingredients and stir to combine. Be careful not to over mix
Divide the batter between 12 muffin cases (they will be quite full) and bake for 20 mins, or until firm, at 200

Categories: Cooking | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

