Nutella panna cotta

I’ve borrowed some cookbooks from the library… This is another element of the whole cheaper, simpler lifestyle we are trying to achieve by chucking all our stuff out! However, it does have the disadvantage that you have to cook loads of stuff straightaway, because you don’t know if you can get the book again so t’s no good saving stuff up, and I don’t (generally) blog food until I’ve tried it! Last night I made Nutella panna cotta from nigellissima, and I was totally thrilled with it. I’ve never used gelatine before, but it turned out to be really easy to do. I halved nigella’s original recipe for 6, as there are only 3 of us. I allowed panther a whole one, even though it’s a totally unsuitable amount of pudding for a two year old to have! I made these in ramekins as I didn’t have dariole moulds as suggested by nigella. This worked well but I didn’t bother even trying to turn them out, we ate them like you’d eat a yoghurt. If you wanted to tip yours out dip the moulds in boiling water for about 8 seconds and then tip them out, although with thick ramekins I think this might not work, hence I didn’t try. To be honest, panther probably ate it better as it was because it was more familiar to her. I altered the amounts in the original recipe slightly, as morrisons sells double cream as 150ml. It seemed sensible not to leave an unusable 25ml so I changed from even amounts of each ingredient to using slightly more cream and less milk, which worked fine. If you don’t have this problem, use 125 of everything. This serves 3 and according to my diet website has 488 calories per portion, when made my way.

100ml full fat milk
150 ml double cream
125g Nutella (I measured this by putting the jar on the digital scales and spooning it out)
1 leaf of fine-leaf gelatine

Gently heat the milk, cream and Nutella in a saucepan, stirring to combine
Meanwhile soak the gelatine in cold water (it needs to be completely covered) for about 3 mins
When the Nutella mixture has combined and is starting to boil around the edges, turn it off.
Pour about 125 ml of the mixture into a jug
Squeeze the excess water out of the gelatine. According to nigella it should ‘feel a bit like a tissue made out of jellyfish’
Put it in the jug with 125ml of the mixture and whisk it. This only took a few seconds
Add the rest of the mixture to the jug and give it a little whisk to make sure it’s fully combined
Pour into 3 ramekins and chill got at least 6 hours, we did them overnight

There isn’t loads I fancy cooking in this cookbook, largely because she insists on using really obscure ingredients that there’s no way I’m buying, but this recipe is fab!

Categories: Cooking | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

