Soda bread

Bit of retro blogging today… Just been sorting out my craft drawers in the understairs cupboard and came across 3 bits of paper with recipes we used to do around when we were finishing uni. I’m sorting and chucking out a ton of stuff in an effort to bring the house back under control, so will be chucking this out, but thought I’d copy them straight up here, so we can keep them for the future. I will be trying this one out again ASAP because I love soda bread (although will have to be post-diet as it’s so full of flour that it’s really bad for you. It’s also pretty heavy on the tummy, so be careful not to go too mad!

To this recipe from my friend marianne when I was living in France in 2004-5. She was a great cook and now does it as a job. At the time I was a terrible cook, but even I could make this! I’m copying it word for word because I haven’t tried it out recently so can’t add any words of wisdom!

500g wholemeal flour (or 1/2 whole)
1 heaped tsp bicarb
1 individual pot full fat yoghurt (125ml) or 1/4 pt soured cream
1/4 pint water
1 tsp salt

Mix flour, bicarb and salt in a big bowl
Make a well and spoon in the yoghur, refill the pot with cold water and add this.
Mix together to a sticky dough, adding more water if necessary
Place on a well-floured baking sheet and shape into a round. Flatten slightly. Dust top with flour and mark a cross 1/2 inch down with a knife
Bake at 190 for 30 mins, until the top is well-browned, a little longer if necessary. If the top browns too quickly turn the oven down a little bit and cover the top with foil
When cooked it should sound slightly hollow when you tap the bottom
Cool on rack for 10 mins, then eat !!!

As I say, easypeasy and yummy!

20131126-154625.jpg

Categories: Cooking | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

