Chocolate icing

I have linked to this before having not actually made it myself. But I’ve made it a couple of times now and it really is a great icing recipe so thought I’d put it up properly. The main thing to note is it is a very thin icing so leave it to set for a bit before putting it on the cake or it will be too sloppy and just slide off. Even if you do this you still need to place your cake on something you don’t mind being dripped with icing, as it will drip round the sides. But it’s a great recipe so definitely try it out when you need a chocolate icing

60 ml water
2 tbsp golden syrup
125g caster sugar (or 50g if using milk chocolate- haven’t tried this so don’t know what effect it would have on the consistency, but suspect it would be runnier!)
175g dark chocolate

Combine the water, syrup and sugar in a saucepan. Stir over a low heat
Allow it to come to the boil then take it off the heat (whoops, forgot to let it boil today!)
Break the chocolate into little pieces, stir into the syrup mixture until melted
Whisk the icing until smooth and shiny (I just used a spoon today as I didn’t want to get a whisk dirty!!!)

I used this to ice my chocolate ginger traybake today. When I’ve tried it I will blog the recipe. It was very easy, just hoping it will be tasty. Because it was to go on a ginger cake I added a tablespoon of ginger syrup from a jar of stem ginger to make it a little gingery.

Categories: Cooking | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

