Carrot and coriander soup

I am not a lover of carrot soup, since Chris made a disgusting one that was basically a flavourless carrot purée. Bleurgh! But I had a bag of carrots that needed using on account of there being a bogof offer on them in the supermarket. I used my normal all n one soup method (from Jamie’s food revolution book) so fried for abut 10 mins then added stock and boiled until soft, before blending. It turned out well enough that I’d make it again. I mean, it was nice! Carrot soup isn’t still my favourite but this was good. The method was the same as for the parsnip and ginger soup. The ingredients are below.

1kg carrot (chopped ends off but didn’t need peeling)
Fresh coriander (loads of it… Tore it up a bit. Fried so,e of the stalks up with the onion etc but not sure it helped. Used about 2/3 of a little plant bought from the supermarket but could have used more)
1 onion
1 small potato (to help thicken and because I had one)
3 cloves garlic
2 stock cubes
Seasoning (lots, as previously discussed)
Sour cream (stirred this in on serving. The sourness was particularly important to the taste I thought, so wouldn’t miss this out)

Categories: Cooking | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

