Cafe review, Strutt Street Bakery, Belper

Think I’ve mentioned belper’s amazing cafes before… We tried a new one this week and loved it. This cafe has been around for about a year but we still hadn’t tried it. I will definitely be going again. The cakes were absolutely amazing! They looked gorgeous and were really unusual. I had a peanut butter brownie (they do a whole range of brownies) and Chris had a slice of billionaires shortbread. He even managed a cup of hot chocolate with it, but that would be too sugary for me nowadays so I opted for a sparkling water to go with my cake. The hot chocolate was delicious though. It was made the proper way with melted chocolate and milk so totally delicious! The meals looked nice, but it was definitely the cakes that sold the place. I saw a few people come in for takeaway cakes whilst we were there, which seemed like a great idea.
The cafe was lovely and comfy, with a little courtyard as well as seating out the front. The only one thing I found disappointing was that they weren’t actually a bakery for bread. They baked their own cakes/quiches etc, but got the bread in from a place in crich. That said, it must be pretty good because there wasn’t a single loaf left when we were there at 3pm on a Saturday!
All in all, I will definitely be going back and working my way through the various cakes!

Categories: cafe | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

