Restaurant review- Tamatanga, Nottingham

This is one of my all time favourite restaurants! I’m often found trying to find excuses to shop in Nottingham just to go there! On this occasion I needed a shop we don’t have in derby so we headed over to Nottingham. It’s best on a weekday as they have a daytime offer where you get meal and drink for £6.99. We like to have a lassi to drink which costs and extra £1 but its still very good value I think. On this occasion panther was with us so we ordered her a meal from the children’s menu- as she’s so little I don’t like children’s menus that cost too much, but a meal here was £3.99 which is fine. She had mini chicken korma with rice and a little salad. It was delicious. They also did more basic children’s food like chicken and chips but I like her to experiment. She ate the rice and a bit of salad really well. Had to convince her to try the chicken by both eating some at the same time, but she then loved it! She wasn’t a huge fan of the sauce but managed to get her to dip some of our naan in it, and try a tiny bit on a spoon, so generally pretty successful toddler dining! Anyway, I have digressed!
I always want a wrap, which I tried a few years ago just before I had panther. They are huge and come with spiced chips. However, I am always tempted away by one of their delicious curry bowls. You can choose rice or naan and I always have naan, never mind the calories! Chose garlic naan which was delicious. I had a butter chicken curry which comes in a bowl, it was very saucy which is how I like it as I can dip my naan in. Chris always varies his order more than me, everywhere not just here. He had a paneer curry last time and a chicken karahi which was hot but tasty this time. We always order popadoms too, they come with 3 lovely dips, the coriander and mint chutney is particularly nice because it’s unusual.
Anyway, this places comes high recommended. We’ve been occasionally ever since it opened. At the start they used to do buy one get one free, but its got way too popular for them to need to do this any more! It’s a nice chilled out, ‘cafeteria- style’ restaurant and you can see into where they prepare the food. Definitely go and try it if you’re in Nottingham!

Categories: eating out | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

