Oatie squares

I’ve been looking for a while for a recipe for flapjack that was a little less sugary and calorific! I used to think of flapjack as a super-healthy cake until the diabetes and then diet made me reconsider my ways, and I realised that despite the high oat content, the sugar/ syrup combo was probably not totally ideal. Anyway, I have been reminded of a recipe I cooked a while back when flicking through old magazines. I am going to make it in a minute if panther goes to sleep. Unfortunately right now this is looking unlikely which will make tonight’s meal out very interesting! The only downside to this recipe is good food reckons it can’t be frozen. No idea why, but it is a shame. As I say, I plan to play around with this to make some healthy oatie bars, so I’ll let you know how it goes.

Ingredients
140g butter, melted
100g sr flour
175g sugar (I will probably Try to reduce this)
175g porridge oats
1 egg, beaten
100g glacé cherries (I plan to use dried cranberries)
50g dark chocolate (this is for drizzling at the end. I’m probably not going to do this but might out some chocolate chips in the mix)

Method
Butter and line a 22cm square cake tin
Mix flour, sugar and oats
Add egg, melted butter and cherries
Mix well
Spread evenly into tin
Bake for 20-25 mins and cool for 10
Mark out 16 squares and cut
Drizzle chocolate before cutting if required

The magazine reckons 208 calories and 9g fat per square which Is pretty good!

Categories: children | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

