Minced beef Wellington

On account of how I’m a little ill right now, I’m stuck at home ‘relaxing’. Have to sit down a lot but not all the time so figured a little bit of cooking might cheer me up and take my mind off things! So for tea tonight we are having a rather delicious minced beef Wellington. I have even home made the pastry and used rosemary from the garden so feeling pretty proud right now! It is still in the oven so can’t comment on this effort yet but figured it deserved its place on here as I’ve made it before and already know it’s delicious! It’s the sort of recipe that feels like an effort when you see the list of ingredients, but feels so worth it when you’ve made it and really doesn’t take much effort. The list of one each of loads of different veg is annoying, but I reckon you could substitute quite a lot, and also it is the same stuff you need for loads of recipes, eg soups, so you just need to shop smartly!

1 medium onion
1 carrot
1 stick of celery
2 cloves of garlic
1 potato
2 mushrooms
Some fresh rosemary
Big handful of frozen peas
1 egg, beaten
500g minced beef
500g puff pastry (if mine works I will blog the recipe later- would normally have bought it but had gone over my budget!)

Chop the veg really small. I processed the onion to mince it as Chris doesn’t like it otherwise
Fry all the veg in oil for 8 minutes
Take rosemary off stalk and chop (I put it in whole as I didn’t read this!)
Add rosemary and peas and cook for 1 more minute
Put veg in a bowl to cool
When veg is cool, add minced beef and half the egg. Scrunch up with your hands
Roll out your puff pastry to size of a small tea towel. You need to dust the surface with lots of flour. I did this on a sheet of tin foil which I then cooked it on as it made it easier to put it onto the baking tray.
Out the minced beef mixture along centre of pastry and shape into a long sausage.
Brush outside of pastry with a bit of egg to help it stick
Wrap u the Wellington so it looks like a big cracker, and scrunch the ends
Brush with the rest of the egg
If you used foil like me, you can now just slide the whole thing onto the baking tray. Otherwise good luck!
Put in the oven at 180 and cook for 1 hour until golden

We are eating this tonight with mashed potato, veg and gravy. I am very excited! This recipe comes from Jamie Oliver’s ministry of food.

Categories: Cooking | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

