Cheese and onion chutney scones

My big problem, food-wise, is that I get so hungry! I need lots of snacks, and if I don’t manage to make healthy stuff in advance I end up with unhealthy stuff. Hence all the cooking tonight! These scones are a brilliant snack. I’ll freeze a few, so I can just get one out when we need a snack. We’ve already tried one and they are truly delicious! (178 cals and 9g fat, is you make 10. I made 6 humungous ones because the dough was a bit sticky to work with, so we’ll have half at a time!

Ingredients

225g SR flour

1tsp cream of tartar

1/2 tsp bicarb

50g diced butter

100g grated cheddar

75g onion chutney (I used tomato, as Chris doesn’t like onions, so in fact I made cheese and tomato scones!)

150ml full-fat milk (in the pre-Panther days I always used semi/skimmed and results were fine with everything- it’s just we have to have full-fat for her nowadays!)

 

Method

  1. Heat oven to 220 . Line a baking tray with baking parchment.
  2. Put flour, cream of tartar, bicarb and pinch of salt in food processor. Add butter and blitz. Check it’s done, mine didn’t do first time- had to leave it quite a while. Reckons to look like breadcrumbs.
  3. Tip into bowl and add grated cheese and chutney. Slowly add milk. Mix to make dough.
  4. Knead for 20 secs (this is somewhat tricky because it is sticky)
  5. The recipe now talks about rolling it out and using a cutter. I have never managed to do this with scones, plus it strikes me as pointless because scones look good when they are imperfect and homemade-looking. I just pick up handfulls and put it on the tray!
  6. The recipe suggests brushing the tops with egg yolk and sprinkling on the cheese. Again, I don’t do stuff like this! I just put them in the oven.
  7. Bake for 12-14 minutes until golden.

ENJOY!

Categories: Cooking | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

